SEPHORA PLAY: AUGUST ’16

1

Hey, guys! It’s time for a walk-through of The August 2016 Sephora Play box. First off, I know it’s already September. To be fair, this box took a full 10 days to get to me, so the month was already almost over by the time I got to it and had time to play with it. Overall, it was totally worth the wait, though.

For those of you unfamiliar with the Sephora Play box, this is a monthly subscription box offered by everyone’s favorite (sorry, Ulta) makeup playground. At $10 a month for 6 products (5 themed products + 1 fragrance sample), I consider it a bargain. Plus, the box price goes toward your VIB status, which I personally enjoy. This month’s theme was “The Eye Openers” – it came with 3 makeup products and 2 skincare products. Let’s talk makeup first.

3

The first sample was a generous pan of Make Up For Ever’s Artist Shadow in I-544, which retails for $21. The Sephora website refers to this as a pink granite. While I personally didn’t find this eyeshadow to be that wearable (hooded eyes and dark shimmer shadows don’t really mix), the formula was very nice. I would consider it to be moderately pigmented, but very buildable. I didn’t experience any issues with fallout. Overall, this was pretty great. I’ll definitely be checking out other MUFE shadows in the future.

5

Next up is the Sephora Collection Contour Eye Pencil 12hr Wear Waterproof in Flirting Game, which retails for $10. Honestly, this works just like any creamy manual eyeliner. For the price, I would definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a much wider color range than the drug store offers. I like that they offer these pencils in glimmer, matte, and shimmer finishes. Flirting game is a shimmery taupe that’s a subtle change from your standard brown or black, but still draws attention to the eye. I definitely like this a lot, but if you’re prone to getting smudged liner all over your face, definitely be sure to set this with a similar colored or translucent powder.

8

Swatches of the MUFE eyeshadow in I-544 and the Sephora liner in Flirting Game

2

The final makeup product in this month’s box is the Urban Decay Perversion Mascara, which retails for $22 full sized, or $10 travel sized. As a self-professed mascara junkie, I think I was most excited to receive this to try out. For those of you unfamiliar with UD’s perversion line, they offer the BLACKEST of blacks.

4

This mascara does not disappoint. The wand is made of  chunky natural fibers that do a great job of providing massive volume with barely any clumping. For best results, I use two coats. The only downside to this mascara is the fact that it isn’t available in a waterproof formula.

That’s it for makeup! Onto the skincare:

7

The first skincare sample is the Lancome Energie de Vie Smoothing & Glowing Liquid Care Moisturizer, which retails for $55. I personally haven’t had a chance to use this on my face, since I’m currently in the middle of testing out another moisturizer, but I did try this out on my hand. I don’t know what I was expecting, considering the name had the word liquid in it, but this is definitely a liquid moisturizer. There isn’t a noticeable fragrance, which I consider to be a plus. Once I get a chance to really test this out, I’ll report back.

9

The last skincare product is the Caudalie Resveratrol Eye Lifting Balm, which retails for $62. I don’t think I’ve been using this product long enough to definitively say it was beneficial to my eye area, but I haven’t seen any negative effects so far. It has a really pleasant consistency and doesn’t leave my eye area feeling greasy, so I can use it day or night. It also doesn’t have a strong fragrance, which I like. The full size is definitely pricey, but I use less than a pea sized amount a day, so the full tube of this would last me quite a while.

Last, but certainly not least, is the fragrance sample included in this month’s box.

6

The Clean Reserve in Blonde Rose retails for $90 and, quite frankly, I’m terrible at describing scents, so I’ll just paste what Sephora says the notes are: Aldehydic Watery, Rose, Peony, Jasmine, Cedarwood, Sandalwood, Musk.

Basically, my first impression of this was that of “this is a grandma who just did some laundry”, but once I actually sprayed it on my skin and let it do its thing, it melded into something a little more pleasant smelling. It’s definitely a statement that isn’t for everyone. If you’re interested, I’d recommend getting a sample first so you can see how the scent evolves as you wear it.

All in all, this box was definitely worth it. The mascara sample alone retails for $10, and I’ll definitely be using all of that, so I got my money’s worth. If you’re interested in the Play box, make sure to sign up for the waitlist! Once there are spots open, you’ll get an email where you can confirm that you’d like to receive the box, and then you’re in. Have you received your Play box? Let me know what you think in the comments!

signature

Leave a Reply

