My first Ipsy bag!

img_0423

Hey guys! As you may know, I’ve been getting Sephora Play bags since October, and I’ve been loving them! I’m a little bit too in love with getting goodies in the mail, though, so I decided to try out another subscription bag – this time, I went with Ipsy, which (like Sephora Play) is only $10 a month.

Some details about how the whole process went down:

  • When I went to sign up on the Ipsy site, I was informed there was a waitlist (which isn’t unusual – Sephora Play operates the same way)
  • was, however, given the option to “skip the line” by completing some basic social media tasks. I don’t personally have an opinion on this, but a quick search showed that some people considered this to be tacky.
  • I missed the deadline to get into the current months’ bag, so I was put onto December’s list.
  • My bag, once shipped, didn’t take long to arrive, which was great!

Now, for an overview of the products I received in my bag:

img_0424

I received 5 items – two of which I already own, so I’ll quickly go over those first.

  • Benefit Porefessional Primer ($31, full size)- This is already a part of my makeup routine for those days that I want my skin to look extra flawless. Pores are one of my biggest skin concerns, so I love this stuff. I’m excited for the sample size, since I’ll be traveling for Christmas.
  • Tarteist Pro Glossy Lip Paint in WCW  ($20, full size)- I actually received this as a sample when I made a Tarte order on Black Friday. I personally love this formula. It’s very pigmented for a gloss, and although there’s transfer (it’s a gloss, duh) the product leaves a nice stain on your lips. I found it easy to apply. I’ll probably keep my extra one in my purse for when I’m on the go.

Now onto the things that are new to me:

  • mPrincess Mineral Eyeshadow in Melting Maple ($15)- I personally love these pigment eyeshadow/glitter combo situations. The color I got was a coppery gold blend that’s very reminiscent of fall. I found that this pigment applied about the same whether you used a wet or dry brush, but a little bit of glitter glue really set it into place. While I have no issue with this product, I think it’s important to point out that the product image on the website looks absolutely NOTHING like the product I received.untitled
    Ipsy’s product picture is on the left, which is accurate to what I received (and beautiful). mPrincess’s product picture is on the right (and gross). These things look nothing alike. There isn’t a single universe where these are the same item.
  • Marc Anthony Strictly Curls Curl Envy Perfect Curl Cream ($6+, full size)- I haven’t had a chance to use this yet, but I have high hopes. The texture of the product is similar to a thin conditioner, and it doesn’t look like it’s going to give me anything resembling those greasy, crunchy curls that I hate. There isn’t a strong smell, which is also a plus.

And last, but not least:

  • MintPear Beauty Blending Sponge ($20)- I don’t even know where to begin with this sponge. First of all, the sponge I received smells like burnt plastic, which makes me a little hesitant to rub it all over my face. It also looks a whole lot like those sponges you can get at Kohl’s for $4 in a two pack, but that’s where the similarities to any other sponge I’ve ever used stop. It’s INCREDIBLY dense. I couldn’t find any instructions for the best way to use this sponge, so I assumed you’re supposed to use it wet like every other makeup sponge on the market. Unlike any other sponge I’ve used (which is most of them at this point), this thing didn’t change size when I got it wet. I don’t know what kind of demon magic that is, but it stayed the exact same size as before, just damp. I tried applying some foundation with it, but I found it to be really hard if my usual sponge-bounce method was used. Instead, I tried using small circular motions like I would with a flat top foundation brush, and that appeared to work. Honestly, I think this sponge has one more chance to redeem itself or it’s going right on its way to the garbage.

 

Honorable mention: the bag

  • Honestly, this bag is super low quality, but I 100% recognize that the bag is a gimmick and just a vessel to throw all of your free shit in. It’s super cute this month, and I’m a sucker for all things fuzzy, so I can see myself using this in my purse. It’ll go well with my Hello Kitty mirror and bunny coinpurse, because I’m a child.

Overall thoughts:

  • Compared to Sephora Play, I’m not super impressed with Ipsy. I’ll give it a few months, but we’re not off to the best start so far.
Leave a Reply

